Open/Close Menu SportMalta is the Government of Malta’s entity for the development and promotion of Sport in Malta.

The starting numbers for the final of the ‘BOV Tazza l-Kbira 2018’ were drawn by the horse owners during a press conference held at the Malta Racing Club.


The ‘BOV Tazza L-Kbira’ is the most prestigious race in the local horse racing calendar and it is raced over a distance of 2640 metres. The 12 finalists were determined from 68 top category trotters on the island following a series of 6 heats and three semi-finals. Unfortunately one of the horses has withdrawn from the competition prior to the draw due to injury thus the final will be disputed between 11 horses.


Mr Thomas Cunningham, General Secretary of the Malta Racing Club and Mr Charles Azzopardi, Executive PR and Marketing at Bank of Valletta drew the starting numbers together with the owners of the finalist horses.


‘This year the BOV Tazza l-Kbira not only saw a bigger number of enlisted horses, but will also carry the largest prize money of the year, cementing this trophy as the highest event of the season’ said Mr Thomas Cunningham. ‘The final will feature a number of trotters that are new to the island, as well as horses who have established themselves in Malta’s racing circles.


’We are pleased to have the horse owners here with us today, and as is the tradition they themselves will be drawing the starting numbers for the final, thus ensuring transparency.


‘I take this opportunity to wish all the horse owners here present all the best for the BOV Tazza l-Kbira final’, said Mr Azzopardi. ‘Bank of Valletta is synonymous with high-profile sporting events in Malta and Gozo and it is our pleasure to once again be supporting the top trotting race in Malta’


The final of the ‘BOV Tazza l-Kbira’ will be held on Sunday 22nd April 2018 with the spectacle at the Marsa Race Track starting at 1:30 pm. The field will see 11 geldings trying to engrave their name on the prestigious trophy three of whom were also in the finalist field last year – Service Secret, Midsummer King and Tanguy de Nappes whilst Brigadoon was a finalist in 2016. The field sees horses from France, Sweden and Italy.


As expected a special entertainment programme is also being prepared which will include the participation of the Malta Mini Owners Club who will be showing their vehicles as well as taking part in the finalist parade by transporting the owners to the presentation area. The drivers will be brought on old horse drawn vehicles and carts.


The finalist horses will be led by the 2011 Tazza l-Kbira winner Kakisis.

CategoryNews, Sport Updates

“Moving a nation through the promotion and development of sport for a healthy, inclusive and successful Malta.”