Open/Close Menu SportMalta is the Government of Malta’s entity for the development and promotion of Sport in Malta.

During the first week of October, the 56th edition of the Malta Darts Association – National League competitions get underway in what is expected to be another exciting season for all participating clubs. In the last couple of season`s the sport made huge inroads on the island and a clear evidence of this is that this year we`ll see nine new clubs participating in the national competitions, one of which will be composed of only female players.




Division One Participating Teams: Kalkara St Joseph, Floriana Ajax A, Mosta Horseshoe Bar A, Birzebbugia Cox Sports Club A, Zejtun Beland Bullseye, Gudja POs Bar A, Hamrun Education Bar A, Senglea M. Conquest A.


Battling it out for the top honour next season, looks to be a two-horse race with current champions Kalkara St Joseph and runners-up Floriana Ajax A on level par. Mosta Horseshoe Bar A and Birzebbugia Cox Sports Club A likely to finish in 3rd and 4th spots again, but like any other sport a few upsets are on the card with the remaining four teams main goal being to maintain division one status for another season.


Division Two Participating Teams: Floriana Ajax B, Cospicua Rangers, Gudja POs Bar B, Birzebbugia Cox Sports Club B, Mosta Horseshoe Bar B, Hamrun Education Bar B, Bugibba Sun City A, St Venera Red Square.


The front runners in this division are expected to be Mosta Horseshoe Bar B, Floriana Ajax B and St Venera Red Square with all three teams intensively active during the off-season recruiting new players. The remaining five teams are expected to be battling out for fourth spot which would ensure a place in the championship division for the latter part of the season.


Division Three Participating Teams: Mqabba St Mary BC, St Paul’s Diamonds, Mgarr The Hatch Sports Pub, Bugibba Sun City Ladies, Floriana Ajax C, Floriana Bocci Club, Hamrun Bayern Munich, Senglea M. Conquest B, Siggiewi St Nicholas BC, Sliema Tipico Club Lounge, St Paul’s Band Club, Zurrieq FC.


With nine of the twelve team represented in this division making their debut anything can happen, especially because up to now the full list of registered players per team is still unknown. The association is eagerly looking forward to this division because for only the second time in history a team will be composed of only female players and three new towns in Malta will be represented … Siggiewi, Sliema and Zurrieq.



CategoryNews, Sport Updates

“Moving a nation through the promotion and development of sport for a healthy, inclusive and successful Malta.”