Open/Close Menu SportMalta is the Government of Malta’s entity for the development and promotion of Sport in Malta.

On Saturday 27th May 2017 Assocjazzjoni Sport Muturi u Karozzi organized the annual event to honor the ASMK 2016 Champions and Runner-Up’s of each section within the Association. This event took place at Verdala Palace in Buskett. This ASMK event was sponsored by General Soft Drinks Ltd, Delicata Winery, Nexos, S. Curmi & Sons, MFCC Ta’ Qali and the Sign Ltd. Special thanks go to the Her Excellency the President of Malta who offered the Presidential Palace of Verdala to host the ASMK Championship Winners and Runner-Up’s.

Among the honoured car winners was Christian Mark Galea on his Fiat Ritmo who won the Modified National Autocross Championship, the Runner-Up Malcolm Borg on his Opel Corsa and Deane Farrugia who won the Standard Car Class National Autocross Championship.

The Motorcycle riders honoured were Clayton Camilleri on a KTM who won the ASMK National Motocross Championship for the tenth time while his younger brother Kyle Camilleri on another KTM is the Runner-Up in this category.

Damon Bonello on a Gas Gas won the Trials National Championship and his Runner-up is Rowen Bonello on a Beta Trials motorcycle.

Matthew Gauci on Sherco won the Enduro-Moto National Championship for the first time and his Runner-Up is Joseph Scicluna on a KTM.

During his speech the President of the Association Frans Deguara congratulated all the winners and at the time thanked all the sponsors present in the hall. The Association also invited the Parliamentary Secretary for Youth and Sports Hon. Chris Agius MP but he could not attend due to other commitments. Present also was also the spokesman of the Opposition for Sports Hon. David Agius MP.

The Association presented a memento of thanks to the sponsors who also made this championship a successful year of motorsport. Among these present were the main sponsor Pasta POIATTI, a representative for the Philip Agius & Sons and Central Asphalt Ltd.

ASMK also presented mementos to the ASMK Honorary members who despite not presently are in the Association leadership they still remained active and assisting during the ASMK events. These are the Former Treasurer of the Association Mr. Edgar Xuereb and Former Members of the Committee Mr. Frans Azzopardi and Mr. Emanuel Pisani. Other special members honoured were Mr. Lawrence Darmanin the Projects Manager of the Association and Dr. David Camilleri who is the legal Advisor of the Association.

Meanwhile, the Association informs the general public and spectators that due to the 2017 General Election, the events scheduled to take place on the 3rd June 2017 are cancelled and new dates are to be announced soon by the Executive Committee.


Further information one can find it on the website of the Association or in the Facebook pages named A.S.M.K. Malta or Assocjazzjoni Sport Muturi u Karozzi. One can make contact by email and Mobile No. 9942 5489.

CategoryNews, Sport Updates

“Moving a nation through the promotion and development of sport for a healthy, inclusive and successful Malta.”