Open/Close Menu SportMalta is the Government of Malta’s entity for the development and promotion of Sport in Malta.

On the Sunday 12th March 2017 the Assocjazzjoni Sport Muturi u Karozzi will be crossing the channel to the Three Hill Island to hold the fourth event with the Enduro Motorcycles.  This 4th event is sponsored by ASMK, Pasta Poiatti and Dunlop and is part of the 2016/2017 Championship. The event is supported by the Ministry for Gozo and the Gozo Sports Board. It will be held in a quarry by the roadside leading to Hondoq ir-Rummien in the village of Qala in Gozo. The Program starts at 10: 00am


Meanwhile an overview of the Enduro standings after the first three events we find Joseph Scicluna on a KTM motorcycle leading the points standings with 57 points. Joseph is followed by former Champion James Zahra with 50 points on a Yamaha motorcycle. In third place we find a the  Sherco of Champion  Matthew Gauci with 41 points. Fourth place is occupied by Gary Debono on his Sherco  motorcycle  with  33 points.

On Sunday 5th March 2017 ASMK organized the fourth event of the ASMK  Pasta  Poiatti Championships by the Autocross and Motocross sections within the ASMK. For this event  50 competitors were registered.

In the Autocross which is divided into a  Modified and a Standard car classes the fight for the lead was high though no one competitor won all the three qualifying Heats. Yet Philip  Joe  Vella,  Jonathan  Camilleri  and Gordon Johnson all on Opel Corsa cars all managed to win the highest  same amount of points thus securing their place in the final Class A race. Matthew  Borg  on a Vauxhall  Nova,  Karl Micallef  on  a Ford Fiesta and the Fiat Punto of Noel Zammit also qualified for this Class A Final Race.

Right from the Start of this Final we saw a very good Start by  Johnson, Micallef and Vella who reached the first corner abreast to each other but after this it was Johnson taking the lead right to the Finish Flag. Vella and Micallef followed close to Johnson. Yet soon the race was forced to stop by the Red Flag as Camilleri who was in fourth place picked the tire barrier with his front wheel and consequently Camilleri overtured his Opel. The race was stopped for the safety of all competitors. Soon after, The race was started again without Camilleri. After the nine laps the result  shows that  Johnson won his third Final A race of this season. He was followed by Vella and Micallef. Fourth place was won by Zammit and Borg ended in 5th place.

The results of the 9 Laps Final B are as follows:- Terence Azzopardi on his Opel Corsa won this Final while followed close by Jason Martin on his Volkswagen  Polo  and  the Opel  Corsa driven by Melo Zammit. Fourth place was won by Delia Duncan on his Ford Fiesta while in fifth place we find Ryan Scicluna on his Ford Fiesta.


In the Autocross Standard Class Final which was  dominated  by mechanical failures on several  cars we seen a vary good race by Gozo driver Johann Vella driving his 1400cc Opel Nova. Vella was followed close by Ian Fenech on his Citroen AX. Karl Scicluna on his Peugeot 106 finished in third place while Quinn Camilleri on his Peugeot 106 and the  Citroen  AX of  Deane  Farrugia  finished in fourth and fifth places respectively as they were forced to retire from the race due to mechanical failures in the cars.

The Motocross results are as follows.  Class A was won by Clayton Camilleri on his KTM while Paul Muscat also on a KTM finished in 2nd place. Third place was won by Kyle Camilleri on his KTM. David Dimech followed in fourth place on his Honda motorcycle.

In Class B we saw the Kawasaki  of Debono Elvin winning this class. Peter  Lee  Sammut and Bernard  Sammut both riding a KTM motorcycle finished in 2nd and 3rd places.  Fourth  place was won by Ryan Faenza on a Yamaha motorcycle.

In Class C Vince Agius riding a Yamaha motorcycle dominated this class. Young Michael Sant riding on  a Honda and the Yamaha of Joseph Azzopardi finished in 2nd and 3rd places respectively. Fourth place finisher was Christopher Hartman on a KTM motorcycle.


In the Veterans Class Paul Deguara won this race on his KTM motorcycle and he was followed by Jethro Sant on a Yamaha. Third place finisher was Sant William riding a Suzuki motorcycle.

Further information can be found on the website of the Association named  www. asmk. org. Mt  or the Facebook pages named A.S.M.K. Malta or Assocjazzjoni Sport Muturi u Karozzi. One can make contact by email on and Mobile 9942 5489.

CategoryNews, Sport Updates

“Moving a nation through the promotion and development of sport for a healthy, inclusive and successful Malta.”