Open/Close Menu SportMalta is the Government of Malta’s entity for the development and promotion of Sport in Malta.

The Association Sport Motorcycles and Cars on the Sunday 19 March 2017 to organize the third activity of the National Enduro Championship 2016/2017. It is sponsored by Pasta POIATTI and Dunlop. This event will be held outside the sports complex Association. It will become the barrier of Fawwara limits of Siggiewi. The Registration opens at 9: 00am and the event starts at 10: 00am.

Meanwhile on Sunday the Association organized another Autocross and a Motocross event. These are also an ASMK & Pasta Poiatti 2016/2017 Championship events. During this event 45 competitors participated in the races.

In Autocross Section was very busy on the day with the 22 competitors divided into two classes, that of the Modified and that for the Standard Class. In the Modified class we saw the Opel Corsa of Philip Joe Vella winning the three Heats of the day thus he was the first driver to seal his place in the Class A finals. Other drivers who qualified for Class A were Gordon Johnson, Joseph Micallef and Malcolm Borg all on Opel Corsa cars, Jason Martin on a Volkswagen Polo and the Ford Fiesta of Karl Micallef.

Right from the Start of this final we saw Johnson and Vella head to head right to the first corner but Vella spinned his car and was forced off the racetrack. Meanwhile Karl Micallef and Borg entered in the scene where both of them battled to take Vella’s place. Karl Micallef managed to pass ahead of Borg which but Micallef remained defending the post until the end. Meanwhile, the final result ended with Johnson winning the 9 Laps race and followed by Karl Micallef and Borg. Fourth place finisher was Joseph Micallef while fifth and sixth places were won by Vella and Martin respectively.

In the Class B Final Race we saw the starting line composed by Noel Zammit on a Fiat Punto, the Peugeot 106 of Jean Paul Grech, Jonathan Camilleri, Terence Azzopardi and Melo Zammit all on Opel Corsa and the Vauxhall Nova of Kieth Borg. Right from the Start of this final we saw Noel Zammit, Azzopardi and Grech making a good launch and remained side by side right to the first corner. Noel Zammit took the lead of this Final while he was followed by Grech and Camilleri. Azzopardi withdrew from the race because he caught the tires on the track sideway while the other drivers remained defending their place right to the Finish. Melo Zammit  drew the attention as he was making pressure on Camilleri and finally they changed positions. The race continued on but had an unfortunate end to Grech where a steering mechanism failure forced him to retire from the race finish. This Class B Final ended with Noel Zammit winning ahead of Melo Zammit and Camilleri. Fourth place was won by Borg while fifth and sixth places were won by Grech and Azzopardi respectively.

In the Autocross Standard Class we had these results: – Ian Fenech on Citroen AX won this class ahead of Deane Farrugia both driving Citroen AX cars. Third place was won by Quinn Camilleri on a  Peugeot 106 while fourth and fifth place finishers were Karl Scicluna on a Peugeot 106 and the Opel of Johann Vella  from Gozo on his Nova. Sixth place finisher was Angelo Galea on his Peugeot 106.

A look at what happened in the Motocross races. Class A races were a spectacle of high level racing and demonstrating highly competitive driving. The main two riders catching the attention were Clayton Camilleri on his 350cc KTM and Paul Muscat on his 450cc KTM. After the first qualifying Heat Muscat was seen to make a very good launch but he was followed by young Kyle Camilleri on his KTM 250cc and the 450cc Honda of David Dimech. Despite this situation Clayton Camilleri made a very strong advance after the first lap to finish following Muscat. This situation remained until the end of the race where Muscat continued to defend his place though there were instances where Camilleri managed to lead ahead of Muscat who was continuously fighting back to hold and secure hus lead. During the Second Heat we saw a similar situation where Paul Muscat won the day’s race. Clayton Camilleri followed close by in 2nd place. Third place finisher was Trevor Muscat on a KTM 250cc followed in fourth and fifth places by cousins David and Stefan Dimech both of then racing on Honda motorcycles.

Other results from the Class B Motocross were:- Here we had seen Ryan Faenza on a Yamaha winning the day while Peter Lee Sammut on a KTM followed in second place. Third place winner was Debono Elvin on his 250cc Kawasaki.

In the Motocross Class C we had Vincent Agius winning his class on a Yamaha. Second placed rider was young Michael Sant on a Honda and third place was won by Adrian Bonnici on a Yamaha.

In the Veterans Class it was William Sant on his Suzuki winning this class. Sant was followed in second place by Paul Degaura on his KTM. Third place was won by Jethro Sant on a Yamaha 250cc.

Further information can be found in the Association website named or in the Facebook pages named A.S.M.K. Malta or Assocjazzjoni Sport Muturi u Karozzi. One can make contact by email on and by mobile phone on 9942 5489

CategoryNews, Sport Updates

“Moving a nation through the promotion and development of sport for a healthy, inclusive and successful Malta.”