Open/Close Menu SportMalta is the Government of Malta’s entity for the development and promotion of Sport in Malta.

Close to 650 athletes participated in the 41st edition of the Teamsport Gozo Half Marathon. This year’s half marathon was won by Steve Chetcuti, who clocked in at 01:17:47:14 followed by French national Benoit Thuaire (01:18:36:520) and by Matthew Cutajar (01:18:37:490).


The first lady that crossed the half marathon finish line was Josann Attard Pulis, record breaker of this year’s Malta Marathon Maltese record, at 01:27:32:300. Following her in second place was Jacqueline Booker (01:39:11:050) and in third place British national Cheryl Evans (01:40:05:240).


Charlie Cilia, record keeper of both the Gozo half marathon and the 8 mile, finished first in 00:45:29:770. Matthew Scicluna was second in at 47:18:490 while Alixander Schembri was third in at 00:47:42:860. Doreen Camilleri finished first female in the 8 mile race at 00:55:22:080 followed by Francesca Arrigo 00:57:22:610 and Tara Abdilla (01:00:46:800).


Apart from the half marathon and the 8 mile, the event also included a 4km, 2km and 2km Fun Run. Tristan Spiteri (00:16:39:670) and Pamela Camilleri (00:19:35:890) placed first boy and first girl overall respectively. In the 2km race, Nahor Grima placed first boy overall at 00:07:50:490 while Jodie Bonello placed first girl overall at 00:09:11:860. Athletix AC – Gozo won the award for club with most participants.


Participants have expressed satisfaction with the organisation of the event, with both seasoned athletes and local and foreign enthusiasts already planning to participate next year. Next year’s event will be taking place on Sunday 30th April 2017.


A full list of results and winners can be viewed online at

CategoryNews, Sport Updates

“Moving a nation through the promotion and development of sport for a healthy, inclusive and successful Malta.”